Add new attachment

Only authorized users are allowed to upload new attachments.

List of attachments

Kind Attachment Name Size Version Date Modified Author Change note
png
usermanager.png 130.3 kB 2 25-Oct-2018 04:31 Ben Spink

This page (revision-9) was last changed on 25-Oct-2018 04:31 by Ben Spink

This page was created on 25-Oct-2018 04:31 by Ben Spink

Only authorized users are allowed to rename pages.

Only authorized users are allowed to delete pages.

Difference between version and

At line 1 removed 4 lines
The user manager has some of the major changes between Crush4 and Crush5. If you were used to the Crush4 user manager, it will seem very strange and hard to get used to at first...until you understand how it changed, then it should make complete sense.
Read on below for a summary of how it changed, and how things work now. If nothing else, read this as its critically important to understand the change to prevent confusion.
At line 7 changed one line
Notice the title of the window. The title of the window tells you what 'server group' you are currently working with. In this example its 'lookup_9090'. Typically it would be 'MainUsers'. The top left three buttons are new user, duplicate user, and delete user. If you know a username, you can type it into the filter box to quickly find the user in the list. Or if you want to see all users inheriting from that user, enter their username in the inheritance box.
Notice the title of the window. The title of the window tells you what 'User Connection Group' you are currently working with. In this example its 'MainUsers'. The top left three buttons are new user, duplicate user, and delete user. If you know a username, you can type it into the filter box to quickly find the user in the list. Or if you want to see all users inheriting from that user, enter their username in the inheritance box.
At line 9 changed one line
Users are not all listed on the left. What used to be 'groups' are not listings of certain users. A user can belong to multiple groups now. A group by itself does not imply inheritance. Read on for how that works.
Users are not all listed on the left. A user can belong to multiple groups. A group by itself does not imply inheritance, its just for organization. Read on for how that works.
At line 11 changed 2 lines
* Major Difference from CrushFTP4 to CrushFTP5
When you select a user, the settings for them will display on the right. Only settings that the user is overriding from the defaults will display. This keeps the user manager simple unless you really want to see everything. Most of the time you don't. When you do need a particular setting, either type in some keywords related to the setting, or click on the 'Show All' button to show all settings. Now everything is visible, and you can click a checkbox to override the default setting for this user. The Quick Jump drop down can help you skip to a particular section quickly.
* Major Difference from CrushFTP4
When you select a user, the settings for them will display on the right. Only settings that the user is overriding from the defaults will display. This keeps the user manager simple unless you really want to see everything. Most of the time you don't. When you do need a particular setting, either type in some keywords related to the setting, or click on the 'Show All' button to show all settings. Now everything is visible, and you can click a checkbox to override the default setting for this user. The Quick Jump drop down can help you skip to a particular section quickly and show that sections hidden items.
At line 16 removed 2 lines
Further, if you 'control click' on the add button, everyone in the current group will get this new user's setting added to them. This is a batch update. You can also control click on the checkbox on the right for a user who was already inherited and it will be removed from everyone in the group.
At line 31 changed one line
The 'TempAccount' user is used for '[Sharing]...' in the WebInterface. When a shared temp account goes to login, this user its the template for the virtual users settings. Deleting, or disabling this account will disable the Sharing abilities.
The 'TempAccount' user is used for '[Sharing]...' in the WebInterface. When a shared temp account goes to login, this user is the template for the virtual users settings. Deleting, or disabling this account will disable the Sharing abilities.
The 'anonymous' user will accept any password. Users won't even be prompted for credentials if you have this account created, but they can still login if they want to.
Version Date Modified Size Author Changes ... Change note
9 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.176 kB Ben Spink to previous
8 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.182 kB Ben Spink to previous | to last
7 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.791 kB Ben Spink to previous | to last
6 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.333 kB Ben Spink to previous | to last
5 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.295 kB Ben Spink to previous | to last
4 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.239 kB Ben Spink to previous | to last
3 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.086 kB Ben Spink to previous | to last
2 25-Oct-2018 04:31 3.052 kB Ben Spink to previous | to last
1 25-Oct-2018 04:31 0.468 kB Ben Spink to last
« This page (revision-9) was last changed on 25-Oct-2018 04:31 by Ben Spink
G’day (anonymous guest)
CrushFTP9 | What's New
JSPWiki v2.8.2